Forum

Introduction

Introduction  

RSS

Kosmas
(@kosmas)
Member Admin
25/07/2019 6:52 pm  

Here we introduce ourselves and post links of our websites and works.

This topic was modified 8 months ago by Kosmas

Topic Tags
juan.vasquez
(@juan-vasquez)
01/08/2019 10:34 pm  

Hello! So it seems that I'll be starting with the introductions!

My name is Juan Carlos Vasquez, I'm a Colombian composer currently based in the United States, currently part of the McIntire Department of Music at the University of Virginia. First of all, I'd like to thank Kosmas and Artemi-Maria for leading the efforts in this project, organizing the framework for the collaboration in such a detailed manner. I'm very much looking forward to seeing how it develops: I have worked with networks of Intelligent Agents in the past, but never coupled with a network of collaborating human composers!

Regarding my own background, I specialize in acousmatic music composition, music for instruments and live electronics and NIME design/performance. Before moving to the USA I was part of the Department of Media at Aalto University in Finland, where I taught interaction design for new musical interfaces and composition with data-flow programming environments. We conducted research regarding idiomatic composition practices for NIMEs and worked in an interface that tracks the level of engagement of the performer (using machine learning) and reacts in an autonomous way to keep the user interested. Prior to my engagements with the Music Technology world, though, I received a rather traditional conservatory-like education in acoustic composition and piano. 

Currently, my research line falls at the intersection between music technology and classical music. I’ve also become interested in compositional paradigms with the ability to face technological obsolescence. 

Thanks again and very happy to work with such an array of talented composers,

Kindly, J. 

Kosmas and Mariamg liked
ReplyQuote
Kosmas
(@kosmas)